Top Five Candidates for Next Pelicans Coach

At around noon today, the Pelicans decided to make the choice that many have been speculating they would make for the last year: firing head coach Monty Williams. While a difficult move to make because of Monty’s relationship with the players, especially Anthony Davis and Ryan Anderson, I think this was ultimately the right decision. Monty’s coaching style was just too stuck in the 1990’s and didn’t fit the roster he had. I wish him nothing but the best of luck and will root for him in his career moving forward. With the firing of Williams, attention immediately turns to the next Pelicans coach so I’m going to look at who would be my top five realistic coaching candidates, which I think are similar to the ones that management is looking at but not the exact same, for the next Pelicans head coach. Finally, before we get this started: no, I didn’t do this for the Thunder job and I won’t do this for any other head coaching job that will open this offseason. The Pelicans are my favorite NBA team and they mean a lot to me so I do write more about them because I enjoy it. Anyway let’s get to the list.

5. Tom Thibodeau

Let me start this by saying that Thibodeau is probably the best coach on this list. He just isn’t a good fit for this Pelicans team. The Pelicans are built to spread the floor and play a little faster tempo, something Dell wants to do and Monty didn’t. While being a terrific defensive coach, which the Pelicans could really use, Thibodeau’s offense is just too stagnant and he doesn’t play fast enough to fit guys like Anthony Daivs, Jrue Holiday, Tyreke Evans, and Ryan Anderson. There’s also the issue that has been widely publicized and talked about which is that he plays his players too much and runs them into the ground. With the injuries this team has gone through the last couple seasons, this could be a major issue if Thibodeau were the coach. However, if the Pelicans were too hire him, I would not be disappointed.

4. Kenny Atkinson

I’m guessing many of you have not heard of this guy and even I hadn’t before Monty was fired, but after reading a little bit about him today, I would be happy if the Pelicans hired him. He’s an assistant of the Atlanta Hawks, under Coach of the Year Mike Budenholzer. According to Bourbon Street Shot’s Michael McNamara, who’s best friend works for the Hawks, Atkinson would be a terrific coach for the Pelicans. He’s just lower on my list because I had never heard of the guy before today. I don’t know what he can do for this team defensively, but apparently the ball movement offense of the Hawks is largely due to him, which would be a huge addition to the Pelicans.

3. Alvin Gentry

We continue our trend of assistant coaches with the head assistant of the best team in the league, Alvin Gentry. Steve Kerr wanted Gentry on staff because of how much he trusted his offensive coaching ability. Gentry did not disappoint this year as the Warriors posted the best offensive rating in the league. You also may remember him as the head coach of the Phoenix Suns after Mike D’Antoni left. He led the Suns to the Western Conference Finals with an up tempo offense. He has also probably learned a lot about defensive coaching on the Warriors. However, he is 60 which is not an ideal age to grow with this Pelicans team. I really think he is ready to be a head coach again and would be quite happy if the Pelicans were to hire him.

2. John Calipari

This would be the most buzz-worthy move the Pelicans could make and I think it would be a very good one. Calipari obviously coached Anthony Davis and won a national championship with him, although I think many associate him so much with Kentucky that I think they forget he coached Tyreke Evans at Memphis and made the Sweet Sixteen. That may be a problem, though, because Calipari will obviously want Tyreke on the roster and I don’t know if Tyreke is a part of the long-term future of this franchise. He also clashes styles a little bit with Dell Demps, but I really think he can adapt to most systems in the NBA. He is also a great defensive coach and is solid offensively. He and Davis together I think is an incredible recruiting pitch for potential free agents that the Pelicans will look at i.e. Kevin Durant. The one thing that would be a negative of this hire would be that I think he would want more power than just head coach and I want to see what Dell Demps can do with that power as GM and decision maker.

1. Fred Hoiberg

Maybe this is me listening to the aforementioned Michael McNamara of Bourbon Street Shot’s the last couple of years, but he has completely sold me on the idea of Hoiberg being the next Pelicans coach. This may be a pipe dream because Hoiberg, the current coach of Iowa State, has stated that he would like to stay in college. However, if we could get him, I think he would be a tremendous fit. The offense that he runs would so perfectly fit the Pelicans and he has really overachieved at Iowa State, winning conference tournaments and making deep NCAA tournament runs. He has also had experience in the NBA as a player and executive. I would be ecstatic with this hire.

What are your thoughts? Who would you like to see as the next coach of the Pelicans? Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @_the5thquarter!


One thought on “Top Five Candidates for Next Pelicans Coach

Leave a comment